On this page, you can find information about the committees and the Editorial Board operating under the Council of Representatives of the Student Union.

Administrative Committee

The Administrative Committee is a body that operates under the Council of Representatives. The Administrative Committee consists of one representative of each of the student union’s council groups, and the council nominates one of the representatives as the chair. If a member of the Administrative Committee is prevented, a person authorised by a permanent member from their own council group can operate as the Administrative Committee’s full deputy member.

The Administrative Committee’s duties include processing the matters that emerge in the council and giving statements about them to the council. The committee’s specific tasks are to adequately prepare the policy questions of the council meetings and other arrangements related to the council’s activity, observe the student union’s administration and activity and especially questions related to the regulations and organisation of the student union and put forward motions of the observations for the council.

Composition of the Administrative Committee 2022

Updated 25.8.2022

  • RATTOISA: Leevi Törnblom
  • Pro Kasvatustieteilijät: Julia Jaakkola
  • Vapaaboomarit: Max Liikka
  • Medaattorit: Sofia Sarmala
  • Hallintotieteiden liitto: Hanna Vähävuori
  • Kontakti: Alisa Hakkarainen
  • Kyltyrböndet: Kaisa Vornanen
  • Vihreä lista: Onni Härkönen
  • Viva – Tampereen yliopiston vihreä vasemmisto: Miska Puputti
  • Kahden Tähden Teekkarit: Ville Kumpulainen
  • Kokoomus: Samuli Lähteenmaa
  • MEMES2.0EB – Master Edators of Matter, Energy and Stuff 2: Electric Boogaloo: Kalle Lehtola
  • TietoteekkarIT: Noora Raitanen
  • Luuppi_puolue: Juulia Kärki
  • International Representatives Group: Ella Puumalainen

Committee for Financial Affairs

The Committee for Financial Affairs is a body that works under the Council of Representatives. The duties of the committee are to operate as a body of experts and to give statements to the board or the council about matters concerning their area of duties when needed or asked. The Committee for Financial Affairs consists of 3–10 persons familiar with finances and administration. A maximum of half of them can be chosen from outside the student union. The chair must be enrolled as an attending student in the university and a member of the student union. The council elects the members of the committee for one calendar year at a time.

The areas of duty of the Committee for Financial Affairs include the student union’s finances consisting of, among other things, participating in the budget drafting and preparation of the policies that steer finances, the business activities of the student union and the real property and personal estate possessed and managed by the student union.

Composition of the Committee for Financial Affairs 2022

  • Max Liikka (chair)
  • Eero Vehka-aho
  • Masi Kajander
  • Joonas Pekkonen
  • Suvi Parhankangas
  • Hanna Vähävuori

Honorary Committee

The student union has an Honorary Committee that works under the Council of Representatives and is a consultative body of experts. The Honorary Committee consists of 3–10 members that the council summons from among people of merit in student union activities. The Honorary Committee nominates a chair and a vice president among themselves, and they, together with the chair of the Executive Board and the president of the Representative Council, form the working division of the committee.

The duty of the working division is to keep in touch with the other members of the Honorary Committee and to prepare the matters discussed in the committee’s meetings. The Honorary Committee’s term of office is three (3) years and is convened by the student union’s board or chair. The council can grant resignation for a member of the Honorary Committee and select a new member within the framework of the regulations of the student union.

The duties of the Honorary Committee are preparing and updating the Standing order on badges and flags, processing and preparing honours and other tasks assigned by the council.

Composition of the Honorary Committee 2022

  • Ville Korpiluoto (chair)
  • Eero Vehka-aho
  • Suvi Parhankangas
  • Juha Köykkä
  • Tuomas Rissanen

Central Election Committee

The Central Election Committee is a working group operating under the Council of Representatives. The committee consists of seven members of the Student Union, and a deputy member for each. The Council of Representatives appoints the members of the Central Election Committee in its meeting and elects a chair for the committee.

The Central Election Committee oversees the execution of the Student Union’s Council elections and makes decisions on the organising of the elections. The committee decides on giving the election announcement and on practical matters, such as date and time of the elections and the voting method, and it approves the documents used in the elections. In addition, the Central Election Committee prepares the guidelines for election advertising.

Before the Council elections, the Central Election Committee examines the electoral documents and approves the combination of the list of candidates. After the elections, the committee confirms the result of the elections.

Composition of the Central Election Committee 2022

  • Olga Teräväinen, chair (deputy member Miikka Mäkirinta)
  • Hanna Vähävuori (deputy member Selinä Nera
  • Venla Vuolanto (deputy member Sanni Tyynismaa)
  • Teemu Juutilainen (deputy member Suvi Parhankangas)
  • Aleksi Mattila (deputy member Ville Kumpulainen)
  • Tuomas Tiura (deputy member Eetu Hartikainen)
  • Vilma Järvisalo (deputy member Noora Tapio)

The Editorial Board

The Editorial Board operates under the Council of Representatives. The board consists of six members, out of which five are appointed by the Council of Representatives. The Executive Board of the Student Union chooses the sixth member from its midst. The Editorial Board can also invite one to three expert members to join it. These members do not have the right to vote. In the beginning of its term of office, the Editorial Board selects a chairperson from its midst.

The Editorial Board has the authority to decide on certain matters concerning the student union magazine Visiiri. The special task for the Editorial Board is to follow closely the operations of the magazine and to discuss with its editor-in-chief its contents, place of print, publishing platform and purchases. In addition, the editorial board participates in budgeting with the editor-in-chief.

Composition of the Editorial Board 2022

  • Heli Aalto
  • Petra Viitanen
  • Alisa Hakkarainen
  • Onni Härkönen
  • Lauri Löyttyniemi
  • Ilona Lehtonen (Representative of TREY’s Executive Board)